Tierkreis L.A.
Erik Ruin, The Brightwork Ensemble, Spacepants, and Synchromy team up to present a showcase of the twelve signs of the Zodiac.


Saturday, January 8th, 2022
Sunday, January 9th, 2022


Ivy Substation Theater
9070 Venice Blvd.
Culver City, CA 90232


General admission: $25.00
Senior citizens, students, and artists financially impacted by covid-19: $15.00


A musical preamble by Spacepants

Karlheinz Stockhausen, arr. Jason Barabba: Tierkreis
Each Zodiac-inspired movement of Tierkreis will precede a companion piece by a local composer.

Aquarius from Tierkreis
Sean Heim: there is no such thing as time

Pisces from Tierkreis
Derek Tywoniuk: water’s edge

Aries from Tierkreis
Dante De Silva: Nameless

Taurus from Tierkreis
Ethan Braun: Read Me

Gemini from Tierkreis
Vicki Ray: Perpendicular Twins

Cancer from Tierkreis
Gabrielle Rosse: Signs


Leo from Tierkreis
Jason Barabba: Let Your Roar Be Heard or Do Aliens Have Astrology?

Virgo from Tierkreis
Molly Pease: Lost-Searching

Libra from Tierkreis
David García Saldaña: Libra by Section

Scorpio from Tierkreis
Adam Borecki: S¢ø®¶πº

Sagittarius from Tierkreis
Vera Ivanova: Sagittarius

Capricorn from Tierkreis
Carolyn Chen: Birria*

* This commission has been made possible by the Chamber Music America Classical Commissioning Program, with generous funding provided by The Andrew W Mellon Foundation.

The Brightwork Ensemble
Eric Ruin, cut paper projections


In the early 1970s, German composer Karlheinz Stockhausen created tunes for twelve music boxes, each representing a sign of the Zodiac, or Tierkreis. These became so popular that each day at noon the current sign’s melody is performed on the carillon of Cologne’s Town Hall tower. For these performances, Synchromy reenvisioned Stockhausen’s compositions for The Brightwork Ensemble and commissioned twelve local composers to write Zodiac-inspired pieces of their own.

This tapestry of musical invention will be accompanied by artist Erik Ruin’s cut paper projections. His work oscillates between apocalyptic anxieties and utopian yearnings. Erik’s visions will meld with the music, creating a live performance embracing the mortal and ethereal.

This performance is made possible in part by the City of Culver City and its Cultural Affairs Commission, with support from Sony Pictures Entertainment and the Culver City Arts Foundation.